In order to benefit from subsidies or research contracts from the public authorities, university institutions have set up a Research Council (A.R. 16/06/1978). This Council advises the Board of Directors on the institution's research policy. It participates in the organization of the evaluation of the University's research activity and oversees the general administration of the institution's research resources.

Composition of the Sector Councils for Research and Development

Article 26 of the document "De l'organisation académique de l'Université" (Doc. 17.824 bis / CA du 16 septembre 2015 modifié lors du CA du 18 novembre 2015) provides that: 

Each sector council for research and commercialization is made up of the vice-deans for research, as well as members of the research units (faculty, interfaculty and institutional) and CAREs proposed by the Rector's College, which ensures the legitimacy of the members it appoints and a significant representation of the scientific staff, these proposals being ratified by the faculties concerned.

In accordance with article 23, §2 of the document "De l'organisation académique de l'Université" (Doc. 17.824 bis / CA of September 16, 2015 modified at the CA of November 18, 2015), each council will elect from among its members at its first meeting a president and a vice-president, whose names will be communicated to the Board of Directors on March 16, 2016


At the Université de Liège, the University Council for Research and Development is assisted by three sector councils:


Missions, constitution, composition and operating procedures of the CSRVs

 => View document (2017)

updated on 4/30/24

Share this page