Hygiene and Health Protection at Work (SUPHT)


Missions

The University Department for Hygiene and Health Protection at Work (SUPHT) manages the following fields of activity:

  • The protection of workers in the context of federal regulations on well-being at work
  • The protection of the environment in the context of various regional regulations (biosecurity, management of hazardous waste, ADR transport and environmental permit).

As these are very interwoven, the approach is transversal and multidisciplinary.

Prevention, protection and well-being of workers

The Internal Service for Prevention and Protection (SIPP) at work is made mandatory for every company by the law of 4 August 1996 regarding the well-being of workers in the execution of their function and the code of well-being at work, which defines its statue, missions and tasks.

It assists the employer, the members of the line management and the workers for the application of the legal provisions and regulations regarding the well-being of workers during the execution of their function and all other prevention measures and activities.

Well-being at work is the set of factors concerning the conditions under which the work is performed. In particular, it is the security of the work, the protection of the health of the worker at work, of the psychosocial aspects of the work, of the ergonomics and hygiene of the work.

The Internal Service for Prevention and Protection at work consists of prevention advisors who meet a number of conditions, including training.

Protection of the environment: biosecurity, dangerous waste, transport and permits

Several missions related to the protection of the environment have also been entrusted to the University Department for Hygiene and Health Protection at Work.

The first is to ensure biosecurity at all premises where genetically modified or pathogenic organisms are handled. This consists of evaluating, managing, and preventing biological risks tied to this type of activity in order to protect the health of the population, of the fauna and flora. Biosafety in laboratories is regulated in Belgium at the regional level in the context of environmental legislation applicable to facilities that are potentially harmful to humans and the environment.

The second is the management of hazardous waste produced by the University services located in the area of Sart-Tilman and the centre of Liège.

The third is the assistance of University officials regarding issues related to the transport of dangerous goods or of research material subject to legal prescriptions.

The last is the drafting and monitoring of applications for environmental permits. This is the necessary administrative authorisation in the Walloon Region for certain activities and/or operate facilities that are likely to cause a nuisance to humans and the environment.

Programmes and courses

In accordance with the legal missions imposed, the SUPHT organises and provides several security and hygiene training programmes for officers, students, trainees, PhD students or final-year undergraduates of the University. The themes addressed are diverse: working in safety in laboratories, prevention and management of biological risks, working safety in workshops, electrical risks, fire safety, industrial first aid or asbestos.

The SUPHT also participates in the training of 2nd cycle university students. Its expertise in security organisation, management of hazardous waste and biosecurity is put to use. Outside ULiège, the SUPHT works on awareness-building and training in biosecurity for future Bachelors students in laboratory technology.

Job seekers who attend the FOREM - GIGA biotechnology Training Centre also benefit from this experience.

Organisation

Management: Anne GROGNA

  • Prevention and Protection at Work
  • Biosecurity and Environmental Permit
Contact
The University Department for Hygiene and Health Protection at Work (SUPHT)
See the service

Share this page

Missions

Le Service Universitaire de Protection et d’Hygiène du Travail (SUPHT) gère les domaines d’activités suivants :

  • La protection des travailleurs dans le cadre de la réglementation fédérale relative au bien-être au travail
  • La protection de l’environnement dans le cadre de diverses réglementations régionales (biosécurité, gestion des déchets dangereux, transport ADR et permis d’environnement).

Ceux-ci étant très imbriqués, l’approche se fait de manière transversale et multidisciplinaire.

Prévention, protection et bien-être des travailleurs

Le Service Interne pour la Prévention et la Protection (SIPP) au travail est imposé à chaque entreprise par la loi du 4 août 1996 relative au bien-être des travailleurs dans l'exécution de leur travail et le code du bien-être au travail qui en définissent le statut, les missions et les tâches.

Il assiste l'employeur, les membres de la ligne hiérarchique et les travailleurs pour l'application des dispositions légales et réglementaires relatives au bien-être des travailleurs lors de l'exécution de leur travail et de toutes les autres mesures et activités de prévention.

Le bien-être au travail est l'ensemble des facteurs concernant les conditions dans lesquelles le travail est effectué. Il s’agit notamment de la sécurité du travail, de la protection de la santé du travailleur au travail, des aspects psychosociaux du travail, de l’ergonomie et de l’hygiène du travail.

Le Service Interne pour la Prévention et la Protection au travail se compose de Conseillers en prévention  qui satisfont à un certain nombre de conditions, notamment en matière de formation.

Protection de l’environnement : biosécurité, déchets dangereux, transport et permis

Plusieurs missions relatives à la protection de l’environnement ont aussi été confiées au Service Universitaire de Protection et d’Hygiène au Travail.

La première est d’assurer la biosécurité dans les locaux où sont manipulés des organismes génétiquement modifiés ou pathogènes. Cela consiste à évaluer, gérer et prévenir les risques biologiques liés à ce type d’activités afin de protéger la santé de la population, de la faune et de la flore. La biosécurité dans les laboratoires est réglementée en Belgique au niveau régional dans le cadre de la législation environnementale s’appliquant aux installations potentiellement nuisibles à l’Homme et l’environnement.

La deuxième est la gestion des déchets dangereux produits par les services universitaires situés dans le domaine du Sart-Tilman et au centre de Liège.

La troisième est l’assistance des agents universitaires pour les questions relatives au transport de matières dangereuses ou de matériel de recherche soumis à des prescriptions légales.

La dernière est la rédaction et le suivi des demandes de permis d'environnement. Il s’agit de l'autorisation administrative nécessaire en Région Wallonne pour pouvoir exercer certaines activités et/ou exploiter des installations susceptibles de causer des nuisances à l'homme et à l'environnement.

Formations et cours

En accord avec les missions légales qui lui sont imposées, le SUPHT organise et dispense de nombreuses formations en matière de sécurité et d'hygiène destinées aux agents, étudiants, stagiaires, doctorants ou mémorants de l'Université. Les thèmes abordés sont très variés : le travail en sécurité dans les laboratoires, la prévention et la gestion du risque biologique, le travail en sécurité dans les ateliers, le risque électrique, la lutte contre l'incendie, le secourisme industriel ou l'amiante.

Le SUPHT participe également à la formation d'étudiants universitaires de 2ème cycle. Son expertise en matière d'organisation de la sécurité, de gestion des déchets dangereux et de biosécurité y est mise à profit. En dehors de l’ULiège, le SUPHT collabore à la sensibilisation et la formation en biosécurité d'étudiants de bacheliers futurs technologues de laboratoire.

Les demandeurs d'emploi qui fréquentent le Centre de formation en biotechnologie du FOREM –GIGA bénéficient aussi de son expérience.

Organisation

Direction : Anne GROGNA

  • Prévention et protection au travail
  • Biosécurité et permis d'environnement
Contact
Service Universitaire de Protection et d'Hygiène du Travail (SUPHT)
Voir l'équipe

Partagez cette page