The desire for the University of Liège to open itself up to the world is expressed through the implementation of an institutional project: the Central Africa Platform. This original and permanent structure is based with our local partner, the ERAIFT in Kinshasa, in the Democratic Republic of Congo. It ensures, with the help of the PACODEL, the identification and study of local area issues that also have an impact on cross-border areas in Central Africa.

Why a Platform in Central Africa?

The ties that unite ULiège and Kinshasa are long-standing, strong, and binding. In addition to the historical aspects, the university has been present in this region for several years both through its institutional support and through the involvement of its members in many research projects, teaching, and community service. For these reasons, ULiège has decided to be present on a continuous basis by concentrating its cooperative activities via a permanent structure: the Central Africa Platform.

The goal of the University of Liège is to play a key role in supporting the various projects carried out on site, but also to develop new partnerships (North and South). Our permanent on-site agent, Lucille Grétry, works daily on these objectives, on their coordination, and on their influence throughout Central Africa. Indeed, the desire of the university is not only to work in the Democratic Republic of Congo, but also to develop its projects and activities with neighbouring countries: Burundi, Cameroon, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, the central African Republic, the Republic of Congo, Rwanda, and Chad.

A launching theme: peri-urban territories

When it was created, the Central Africa Platform focused on a very specific area of ​​research: peri-urban areas. Why was this theme chosen? On the one hand, because it is expected that the urban population (living in the city) will grow by 60% by 2030; on the other hand, because the urban transition is already a global phenomenon.

This movement in population has shown rapid and transverse transformations in the societies of the South. The university therefore sought to contribute to the development of these areas under its environmental, territorial and societal aspects.

Today, ULiège finances five doctoral theses related to the theme of peri-urban territories, and the Central Africa Platform has opened its field of activity to other areas, all more diverse and varied.

Contact
Pacodel

Headquarters

+32 (0)81 62 21 13 - pacodel@uliege.be
Passages des déportés, 2 (Bât G1)
B-5030 Gembloux

Site of Liège
+32 (0)4 366 55 31
Quartier Urbanistes 1, Traverse des Architectes, 4 (Bât. B3h)
B-4000 Liège

Site of Arlon
+32 (0)63 230 867
Avenue de Longwy, 185 (Bât. BE-009)
B-6700 Arlon

L

a volonté de l’Université de Liège de s’ouvrir au monde s’exprime par la mise en place d’un projet institutionnel : la Plateforme Afrique Centrale. Cette structure originale et permanente est basée chez notre partenaire local, l’ERAIFT à Kinshasa en République Démocratique du Congo. Elle veille, avec l’aide du PACODEL, à l’identification et à l’étude de problématiques caractéristiques de zones locales ayant également un impact sur les zones transfrontalières en Afrique Centrale.

Pourquoi une Plateforme en Afrique Centrale ?

Les liens qui unissent l’ULiège et Kinshasa sont anciens, forts et durables. Outre les aspects historiques, l’université est présente dans cette région depuis plusieurs années tant par son appui institutionnel que par l’implication de ses membres dans de nombreux projets de recherche, d’enseignement et de service à la communauté. Pour ces raisons, l’ULiège a décidé d’y être présente de manière continue en concentrant ses activités de coopération via une structure permanente : la Plateforme Afrique Centrale.

L’objectif de l’Université de Liège est de pouvoir jouer un rôle clé dans l’accompagnement des divers projets menés sur place mais aussi de développer de nouveaux partenariats (Nord et Sud). Notre permanente, Lucille Grétry, travaille quotidiennement à ces objectifs, à leur coordination et à leur rayonnement dans toute l’Afrique Centrale. En effet, la volonté de l’université n’est pas d’œuvrer uniquement en République Démocratique du Congo mais aussi de développer ses projets et activités avec les pays avoisinants : le Burundi, le Cameroun, le Gabon, la Guinée Equatoriale, la République Centrafricaine, la République du Congo, le Rwanda et le Tchad.  

Une thématique de lancement : les territoires périurbains

Lors de sa création, la Plateforme Afrique Centrale se concentrait sur un domaine de recherche bien particulier : les territoires périurbains. Pourquoi avoir choisi cette thématique? D’une part, parce qu’il est prévu que la population urbaine (habitant en ville) croisse de 60 % d’ici 2030 et d’autre part, parce que la transition urbaine est d’ores et déjà un phénomène global.

Cette mouvance de la population a fait apparaître des transformations rapides et transversales dans les sociétés des pays du Sud. L’université a dès lors souhaité contribuer au développement de ces zones tant sur les aspects environnementaux, territoriaux que sur les aspects sociétaux.

Aujourd’hui, l’ULiège finance cinq thèses de doctorat liées à la thématique des territoires périurbain et la Plateforme Afrique Centrale ouvre son champ d’activité à d’autres domaines, tous plus divers et variés.

Contact
Pacodel

Siège social
+32 (0)81 62 21 13 - pacodel@uliege.be
Passages des déportés, 2 (Bât G1)
B-5030 Gembloux

Site de Liège
+32 (0)4 366 55 31
Quartier Urbanistes 1, Traverse des Architectes, 4 (Bât. B3h)
B-4000 Liège

Site d’Arlon
+32 (0)63 230 867
Avenue de Longwy, 185 (Bât. BE-009)
B-6700 Arlon

Partagez cette page