From Liège to Gembloux and Arlon: a multi-city university

A multi-city university: Liège, Gembloux, and Arlon


he legislation of 1971 adjusts the university to its time, which is the result of the student protests of 1968-1969. Democratisation, participation, and openness characterise this period: the Board of Directors opens itself up to student representatives, scientific and technical personnel, and to outside circles.

In the context of the implementation of federalism, the University reports to the French Community of Belgium (the "Wallonia-Brussels Federation") starting on 1 January 1989. Its official title thus becomes the "University of Liège" instead of the "State University in Liège".

A public university of the French Community, the University of Liège will grow rapidly, becoming the most complete university in Wallonia, and a multi-site and multi-city university as a result of several integrations:


The "Fondation Universitaire Luxembourgeoise" joins the University of Liège The Arlon Environmental Campus now hosts the Department of Environmental Science and Management of ULiège


HEC Liège and the Departments of Economy and Management of the University of Liège merge. HEC Liège, Management School of the University of Liège is born.


The Faculty of Agricultural Sciences of Gembloux is integrated into the University of Liège. It carries out its activities known throughout the world under its new name: Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech


The higher institutes of architecture, Lambert Lombard and Saint-Luc de Wallonie (Liège), are attached to the University of Liège, forming the Faculty of Architecture (11th Faculty of Uliège).


In 2017, 200 years after its inception, the University of Liège remains rooted in the historic heart of the city whose name it proudly bears, but also in the magnificent green campus of Sart Tilman, as well as in two other Walloon cities: Arlon, threshold to the SarLorLux Greater Region, and Gembloux, ideally located between Namur (capital of Wallonia) and Brussels (Belgian and European capital).

Return to the history menu

<< previous Page : after World War II and the transfer to Sart Tilman

Share this page