The only complete public university in French-speaking Belgium, the University of Liège includes 11 Faculties, located throughout 4 campuses. Within each Faculty, the management of teaching activities is entrusted to the Departments, and the management of research activities, to the Research Units.

RS2646 20151027 Sciences appliquees FSA Sart Tilman BB (199)




The Department is a coherent whole that, within a faculty, brings together all those who identify with the same discipline or a single field of study, as well as the administrative, technical and labour staff who are administratively attached. The department includes a general assembly - bringing together all members of the teaching, scientific and administrative, technical, and labour staff that are attached to it as well as the student representatives -, a council that ensures the departmental management, and an executive office. Each department sets its own internal regulations.

Learn more about Departments

Research units

The research units are either faculty (URf) or interfaculty (URi). They include researchers around specific and promising themes, in a dynamic of pooling of resources. ULiège currently has 45 faculty research units and 10 interfaculty research units. The research units may find themselves labelled to become institutional research units (URinst).